La morto deziras babilar; Death wants to chat

La morto deziras babilar

La morto deziras babilar kun ni ke ni vivas.
La morto deziras babilar kun ni ke ni vivas bone,
Ma ni ne volas audar la mesajo.
© Yelling Rosa
2024-04-15

Death Wants to Chat

Death wants to chat with us so that we live.
Death wants to chat with us so that we live correctly,
But we don’t want to hear the message.
© Yelling Rosa
2024-04-15

I have written the verse above using the Ido language.

Linguists have led Ido from Esperanto in the early 20th century. Their purpose was to make an even more explicit artificial language than Esperanto. Ido is the third most popular artificial language after Esperanto and Interlingua.

Important Ido Links

Ido for All

English course for learning Ido, 253 pages, pdf

English-Ido Dictionary

by Luther H. Dyer, 348 pages, pdf

Ido-English dictionary

HTML file

Translate from English to Ido

Internet Translator

Ido, Linguo Internaciona:
Linguala Komitato di ULI

This home page includes extensive information and text in Ido, English, German, and French.

Generala IDO – LIBREYO

From here, you can download books written or translated into Ido.

La urbo-domo di Tornio

Tornion raatihuone by Yelling Rosa 2015 002 Smaller

De mea fenestro me povas vidar la urbo-domo

 

Random Sentences from Tatoeba.org


IDO

 


ENGLISH

To esas mea utensilo.

These are my tools.

Me prizas ta taso.

I like this cup.

Me esas felica.

I am happy

Bakar pano esas arto.

Baking bread is a form of art.

Quala utensilo chanjus objekto a persono?

What sort of tool would turn a thing into a person?

Il audas to, quon il volas audar.

He hears what he wants to hear.

 

Tom kompris la pano.

Tom bought the bread.

Nulu savas.

No one knows.

Me chanjis la frazo.

I changed the sentence.

La yuna princo parolis per lauta voco.

 

The young prince spoke loudly.

Yes, me habitas hike.

Yes, I live here.

 

Purpura nokto sur la litoro di la bayo

Vu povas plugrandigar la fotografuro per apertar olu en nova Tab.
You can enlarge the picture by opening it in a new tab.

34 Replies to “La morto deziras babilar; Death wants to chat”

  1. I love your poem!

    Sometimes I think, instead of inventing more languages, why not just learn Esperanto, so that we can start communicating with everybody? Put the matter of “what languages does it consist of” aside. It is there, let us use it.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for your comment.
      You are correct that developing new artificial languages will continue the popularity that Esperanto has gained. I have presented three of the most popular artificial languages in my articles to give my readers an idea of what is available. Also, I talked about Latino sine flexione. It’s my favorite, but study material needs to be provided. Thus, its use is still being determined because there is no other point of reference for it other than the Latin language.

      Before I leave the presentation of artificial languages, I have one more option up my sleeve. It is a modern Indo-European language. The European Union has supported this project, and the result is surprising. I don’t know if there is a plan to develop a more popular version of this option later, but at least for now, it is too time-consuming for people to master it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I had never heard of Ido before, thank you for this introduction. I can actually guess some of the words from the context, e.g. the captions of your photos.

    Your poem rings so true, we all know what awaits us, yet we live in denial for as long as possible.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice poem.

    TBH I’m probably too old to start another -artificial- language. Though this one has an easy touch and nice sound.

    “Babilar” is understandable, in French there is “Babiller” (A childish way of speaking a lot…)

    Take care.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment